Madrid City Council

Madrid City Council


The session during which the current Madrid City Council was established took place on the 13th June 2015. The 57 councillors elected to Madrid City Council in the local elections that took place on the 24th May 2015 were all in attendance.

Manuela Carmena was announced Mayor of Madrid with 29 votes- an absolute majority- in the Assembly on the 13th June 2015, during which a significant re-shuffle took place, with new councillors from the recently formed political parties (Ahora Madrid and Ciudadanos) as well as the two traditional parties (PP and PSOE).  The spokesperson of each of these parties took to the Assembly Hall for the first time on the 13th June: Esperanza Aguirre (PP), Rita Maestre (Ahora Madrid), Antonio Miguel Carmona (PSOE) y Begoña Villacís (Ciudadanos). Their election represents a historic shift in Madrid City Council, which has been led by the PP (Partido Popular) for the last 24 years.

Madrid City Council is made up of 57 councillors. The current distribution of councillors by party can be seen in the graph below.

   Corporación actual 2015-2019

Utilizamos cookies propias y de terceros para mejorar la experiencia de navegación, y ofrecer contenidos personalizados. Al continuar con la navegación entendemos que se acepta su uso, pulse aquí para más información.

Subir Bajar